Hand-printed business cards (part 1)

07May11

As mentioned in the previous post, I was in need of some business cards for an industry event. As I was unable to commit to a design I like, the pressing deadline made me quite stressed!

Luckily, I stumbled upon a wooden press block with the letter ‘G’ that I quite like. So I decided to make my own business cards. I found some paper suitable for press at Opus on Granville Island, and I’ve already purchased some black block printing ink.

wood press block

The lucky find!

The next challenge turned out to be cutting from a large piece of paper to (roughly) 2 by 3.5 inches business card size. I’m a retard when it comes to using the x-acto knife. A rule of thumb I’ve learned is that always use a sharp blade. Don’t be cheap like me.

Then, I inked and pressed the block on pre-cut pieces of paper, and wrote my info on every card, and repeat…um, 80 times. It was hard trying to avoid typo while my mind wanted to zone out under repeated tasks. Out of nowhere, I started doodling on the ‘G’s. The results were surprisingly good. The doodles made each card unique, and justified the cards being made by hand.

The G

The G

Repeat 80x

Repeat 80 times...

Owl for Caileigh

Owl for Caileigh

The Bird

One of the many designs

No Responses Yet to “Hand-printed business cards (part 1)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

